Organization of Petroleum Exporting Countries (OPEC)

Countries which have organized for the purpose of negotiating with oil companies on matters of oil production, prices and future concession rights. Current members are Algeria, Angola, Ecuador, Iran, Iraq, Kuwait, Libya, Nigeria, Qatar, Saudi Arabia, the United Arab Emirates and Venezuela. The Neutral Zone between Kuwait and Saudi Arabia is considered part of OPEC. Ecuador suspended its membership from December 1992 through October 2007. Prior to January 1995, Gabon was a member of OPEC. Indonesia suspended its membership effective January 2009.